ALLERGIES, NUTRITION & DIETARY RESTRICTIONS
Is there gluten or barley malt in Lindt chocolate?
Gluten can be found in several premium chocolate products that Lindt & Sprüngli produces; either as a cereal ingredient or as a barley component. When barley malt extract is the only gluten-containing cereal ingredient in the ingredient list, the quantity used in the recipe is very low therefore gluten level is below 20 mg/kg (which is "gluten-free" according to EU regulations and Codex Alimentarius).
For consumers who are sensitive to gluten, we do offer certain premium high cocoa content products that are manufactured without any cereal or barley malt. These offerings include four products from our EXCELLENCE range - 70%, 85%, 90%, 99% and 100%. However, please note, that the Excellence 70% and 85% bars are produced on the same line as products that do contain barley malt extract, so there is a potential for cross contamination. Further we also have Lindt Excellence a Touch of Vanilla white chocolate bar, Lindor Strawberries and Cream truffles, Lindor white chocolate truffles and Lindor white chocolate bars which do not contain any gluten containing ingredient in the recipe or as traces from cross contact and is suitable for consumers sensitive to gluten. Please always refer to the ingredient list on the product’s packaging for definitive advice.
We are sensitive to the fact that there are consumers who are unable to enjoy all of our chocolate at this time, and we hope that in the future we will be able to extend more product offerings to accommodate our consumers with varying dietary requirements.
Are Lindt products nut allergen safe?
Unfortunately, no Lindt product is 100% guaranteed nut allergen safe. All our Lindt production sites globally are peanut free since 2016. The "may contain nuts" warning informs you that the product may contain minute traces of nuts because they are produced on the same production lines. Traces of almond, hazelnut, pistachio, macadamia, cashew or pecan could be present in very rare cases because chocolates containing nuts are manufactured on the same lines or in the same production area. However the "nuts" do not include peanuts. All Lindt manufacturing facilities process nut products, so there is a potential for cross contamination. Though Lindt incorporates the most thorough cleaning process, minute traces may cross contact with other products within the factory. According to allergen experts, a simple nut protein trace can cause an allergic reaction and we advise you to consult your physician for a consumption recommendation. Lindt is aware of the growing prevalence of restricted diets due to nut allergies, and we are sensitive to the fact that these consumers may not be able to enjoy our chocolate at this time.
Soya Lecithin in Lindt Products
Soya lecithin can be found in our regular dark chocolate products, as well as milk and white chocolate. The EXCELLENCE 70%, 85%, 90%,99% and 100% bars are our only products that do not contain soya lecithin. We have a comprehensive allergen control program in place and we adhere to strict Good Manufacturing Practices in order to reduce the risk of cross contamination. However, we do label all of our products with "may contain soya" as a precaution for the most sensitive consumers.
Which Lindt products are suitable for people with lactose intolerance?
Lindt uses skim milk powder, whole milk powder, and other dairy ingredients in many of our chocolate products. While our white and milk chocolate products contain the most, the Excellence 70%, 85%, 90%,99% and 100% bars do not have milk products in them. However, all Lindt manufacturing facilities process milk, dark, and white chocolate products. We have an allergen control program in place and adhere to strict Good Manufacturing Practices in order to reduce the risk of cross contamination, however, we do label all of our chocolate products that do not contain milk as an ingredient with the statement "may contain milk" as a precaution for those that are most sensitive to milk and milk ingredients. For those reasons, Lindt does not have products suitable for people with severe lactose intolerance.
Do all Excellence bars include sesame allergen warning?
We do have a facility that produces products containing sesame. As such, we take precautions to safe-guard our consumers’ health by including the sesame allergen warning on the packaging. We also sell EXCELLENCE bars that are manufactured in a different facility which do not carry a sesame warning. Please, check the ingredient list each time to verify if a product contains sesame as an ingredient or to ensure traces as cross contamination.
Eggs or Poultry Ingredients in Lindt Products
Poultry is not used in any of Lindt products. While eggs can be an ingredient in some of our filled chocolates and pralines, all egg and egg by-products are listed in bold in the ingredient statement. Please always refer to the packaging for a definitive ingredient listing.
Do you sell sugar-free/reduced-sugar chocolate products?
Currently, we do not offer any sugar-free products. For a reduced sugar content, you may try the EXCELLENCE 85% Cocoa chocolate bar which has 5g of sugar per serving, or the EXCELLENCE 90% Cocoa chocolate bar which has 1.3g of sugar per serving. We also have an EXCELLENCE 99% and 100% Cocoa chocolate bar.
Are Lindt chocolate products suitable for vegans?
Some of our products are made without any animal products, such as our Lindt EXCELLENCE range with 70%, 85%, 90%, 99% and 100% Cocoa dark chocolate bars. Please always refer to the packaging for a definitive ingredient listing.
Are Lindt chocolate products suitable for vegetarians?
We are delighted to inform you that our chocolates (including our Lindor and Excellence ranges) are suitable for vegetarians. The only ingredients of animal origin we use to manufacture some of our chocolates are milk, milk products, milk fat and cream and sometimes eggs. Some of our other brands to contain shellac. Please always refer to the packaging for a definitive ingredient listing.
If you would like to know about any other products, you are welcome to contact us here